2016 Local Voter Information for Floyd and Montgomery Counties

This information is compiled by the Montgomery Floyd Regional Library staff. For official information, contact the Floyd County Voter Registrar’s office, the Montgomery County Voter Registrar’s office, or the Virginia Department of Elections.

Election Day is Tuesday, November 8, 2016. Polls are open from 6AM to 7PM.

Voter Registration Information

Registration Extended: Voter Registration has been extended to Midnight, Friday, October 21.

Voter Registration deadline for the November 2016 General Election is Monday, October 17. Complete the Voter Registration Application (also available at the libraries) and submit to your county’s Registrar. You can also register to vote online.

College Students: Visit the Student Voter page for information about voting at your college home.

You can request an absentee ballot by submitting an Absentee Ballot Application Form by mail (must be received by the Registrar by November 1, 5PM), online (by November 1, 5PM), or in person (by November 5, 5PM). There are some exceptions to the deadline for emergencies. If you apply in person, you will be allowed to vote using a voting machine in the Registrar’s office after completing the application. Otherwise, your completed Absentee Ballot will need to be received by your Registrar by 7PM on Election Day.

Where do I vote?

Use the Department of Election’s Polling Place Lookup to find your voting location.

Voter ID Information

State law requires all voters to provide an acceptable form of photo identification at the polls. If you don’t have an approved form of photo ID, you can apply for a free Virginia Voter Photo ID Card at your local voter registration office (even on Election Day). The form is easy!

Voters who do not bring an acceptable form of ID to the polls will vote on a provisional ballot. This ballot will only be counted if the local electoral board receives a copy of your ID by noon on the Friday after the election.

Floyd and Montgomery County Ballots

Below are all of the possible contests in Floyd and Montgomery Counties. What is on an individual's ballot will depend upon the county, district, and/or town in which one resides.

President and Vice President

Political PartyOfficeBallot Name
DemocraticPresidentHillary Clinton
Vice PresidentTim Kaine
RepublicanPresidentDonald J. Trump
Vice PresidentMichael R. Pence
LibertarianPresidentGary Johnson
Vice PresidentBill Weld
GreenPresidentJill Stein
Vice PresidentAjamu Baraka
IndependentPresidentEvan McMullin
Vice PresidentNathan Johnson

Federal Races:

LocalityOfficeBallot NamePolitical PartyIncumbent
VA 9th Congressional DistrictUS House of RepresentativesDerek W. KittsDemocraticNo
VA 9th Congressional DistrictUS House of RepresentativesH. Morgan GriffithRepublicanYes
VA 9th Congressional DistrictUS House of RepresentativesJanice Allen BoydIndependentNo

Virginia Constitutional Amendments:

1Article I. Bill of RightsSection 11-A. Right to work.See official site
2Article X. Taxation and Finance.Section 6-B. Property tax exemptions for spouses of certain
emergency services providers.
See official site

Searchable Voter Information Database

The most comprehensive source for an individual's voting information is found in the Virginia State Board of Elections' searchable database. If you are a registered voter, you can enter your information into this form and find your registration status, the Districts in which you reside, your polling location, what's on your ballot, and your Voter Registrar's contact information.

What are Districts?

Each voter is in several different districts:

Federal Elections
Federal Congressional District, for US House of Representatives elections. All of Montgomery and Floyd Counties are in the Virginia's 9th Congressional district. There are no "districts" for the US Senate; everyone in the state votes on the same race.

State Elections
State Senate: Floyd is in the 19th State Senate District. Montgomery County residents are in either the 19th, 21st, or 38th District.
House of Delegates: Floyd is in the 7th House of Delegates District. Montgomery County residents are in either the 8th or 12th District.

County / Local Elections
Counties are also divided into districts which are the basis for certain races, such as School Board Members or Board of Supervisor elections. Town residents vote for County and Town races when they occur.

What Districts am I in?

Your registered voter information will show your state and local districts.

State District Maps:
State districts were last drawn effective 2011. Below are links to overview maps of the districts, and very detailed written descriptions of the boundaries.

House District 7 Map (PDF) Description (Word)
House District 8 Map (PDF) Description (Word)
House District 12 Map (PDF) Description (Word)
Senate District 19 Map (PDF) Description (Word)
Senate District 21 Map (PDF) Description (Word)
Senate District 38 Map (PDF) Description (Word)

There is also an interactive map (requires Silverlight) which will allow you to zoom in for greater district boundary detail.
Show/Hide Interactive Map Hints

Local District Maps:
Montgomery County's Precinct Maps can be found on the Montgomery County Website.
Floyd County's Voting Districts can be shown on Floyd's GIS site. Select Map Layers tab on top toolbar, expand the Administrative folder, and select voting districts.

This information is compiled by the Montgomery Floyd Regional Library staff. Information is believed to be correct but not guaranteed.

Return to Top